Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Book Review

missperegrine_334x518
Miss 
Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs, @RansomRiggs

Released: 6/07/2011

Pages: 352

Rating: ****

MAJOR SPOILERS!

The hype around this book is insane! Everyone seems to love it! I had seen this book around a lot and finally decided to pick it up! It’s definitely not what I was expecting. I was a little disappointed because I expected like a horror novel but it’s more Tim Burton-esque than it is horror, but as a fan of Burton’s, I can say that it’s a good thing!

– From Barnes & Noble – 

A mysterious island.

An abandoned orphanage.

A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive. 

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

My Thoughts: I really enjoyed this book! I wasn’t blown away by it at all but I did like it. It wasn’t what I expected it to be at all. I had never really looked into the book or researched it. I knew there were creepy pictures throughout the book but I had no idea of the plot. I did have a preconceived notion that it was going to be like horror but I was completely wrong. I do have to say they picked a great director (Tim Burton) to film this because I was totally getting TB vibes from it, very quirky and gothic. I really enjoyed the characters, except for Jacob. I didn’t hate him but I definitely think he was annoying, I got the feeling he was a spoiled, entitled brat. I didn’t like some of his actions but I’m okay with them because they moved the plot along. So here’s a fair warning if you have not read the book, SPOILERS INCOMING!  I don’t like how Jacob handled leaving his entire life and how the only thing he left was a note to his parents…don’t get me wrong, they weren’t the most loving parents but I definitely felt like they deserved more than a note. Who knows, maybe they’ll fix it in the later books. I also found the romance between Jacob and Emma, one she’s way older than him, not in terms of looks but yeah..and also his grandpa was involved with her at one time….am I the only one that felt awkward about that whole situation? I still don’t know how I feel about Miss Peregrine turning into a bird, I liked her so having her as a non-speaking bird may ruin it for me, hopefully they can change her back quick in the second novel. Overall I really liked it and I sped through it, was it my favorite, no, but every book doesn’t have to blow you away, just entertain you. I can’t wait to continue Jacob’s journey. If you haven’t already then I totally recommend you pick this baby up ASAP and get caught up! Library of Souls, the third and final book in the series come out on September 22nd! Expect a review on it!

Happy Reading!

One comment

  1. transhaan · August 5, 2015

    Nice review ! 🙂 btw we recently made a review for this book too 😀 and it means the world if you can check it out and comment or give a follow ! 💕 we follow back. 🙂 http://bookidote.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a comment